L’Arc de Triomphe

We all have our idea of Paris. Whether it’s a classic like “An American in Paris,” something more recent (and one of my personal favorites) “Amelie,” or even “Emily in Paris,” which is apparently très populaire among Gen Z – we have this picture of Paris in our minds. The Eiffel Tower, the Arc de Triomphe, the Champs Élysées: quintessential, iconic Paris. Same, same.

Until recently, I lived in an area of Paris that was completely unknown to me: La Défense. Now, maybe I’m not sharing anything new and you know all about La Défense. If so, good on you. Perhaps I was just ignorant of many, many parts of this city. Or maybe I can chalk it up to having only spent a few short weekends here. Whatever. La Défense was a new area that I initially dismissed. After walking around a bit, I realized my error.

La Défense should not be dismissed for many reasons. First, it’s a major business district and home to many of France’s top corporations. Wikipedia says it’s “Europe’s largest purpose-built business district,” bringing in 180,000 workers each day. Imagine the traffic! And here’s what I love: La Défense has a lot of elevated walkways for pedestrians, bicyclists, and folks on scooters so you can avoid cars altogether. I liked exploring the area via these walkways on the weekends – which is how I found that movie theater with salted popcorn, as well restaurants, shops, and the Grande Arche.

The esplanade (Le Parvis de la Défense) sits right in the center of the district. In addition to greenspace, the esplanade includes a number of really cool art installations that definitely make the area worth a look.

And then there’s the Grande Arche. Everyone knows the Arc de Triomphe, but what about the Grande Arche, conceived as the 20th century version of the classic Arc? Shaped like a cube, the Grande Arche was constructed on the Parisian axis, which means that it lines up with the Arc de Triomphe, the obelisk on the Place de la Concorde, and other historic sites.

La Grande Arche

In fact, when I stood on its steps I could clearly see the Arc in the distance. How cool is that?

L’Arc de Triomphe, View from La Grande Arche

The truth is, La Défense doesn’t need me or anyone else to defend it. During my brief stay there I saw many tour groups exploring the area. Clearly, it is not some deep, dark Parisian secret. Still, I think the Parisian business district serves as a reminder for all of us: Paris is not just a tourist destination. It is a real city, with real people who live and work here – and not just in the city center. It’s a city that cherishes its history even as it determines its future. So when you are standing at the Arc de Triomphe in awe of its grandeur, look northwest toward La Grande Arche and La Défense.